Prompt Ten

journal“Write a letter to the reader of a novel you haven’t written yet.”

Dear Shelby,

I want to first thank you for taking the time to read my novel. It took me many, many years to complete so to know that someone out there appreciates and “loves” my hard work is a blessing.

Second, as clichéd as this may sound, I want to tell you how important it is to never give up on your dreams. It may have taken me until my forties to publish my first novel, but my dream to become a writer began way back when I was in fourth grade. My teacher asked everyone what he or she wanted to grow up to be and I heard the usual responses of doctor, veterinarian, fireman, etc., but I said I wanted to be an author and an illustrator. Granted, my sister did the cover art for my novel, but even after all these years I still wanted to write.

I have worked in retail, the restaurant industry, and television but I have always kept writing as my hobby. It was not until my husband sat me down almost 10 years ago, with an outline I had created for my next piece, and told me I needed to write a novel did I finally consider getting something published.

So please remember this advice from a woman who published her first novel at 43: never give up on your dreams, never let anyone discourage you, and never stop reading!

Sincerely,
Angelica

Prompt Nine

taylor-swift_press-2013-650“You get to be any singer you choose and sing one song in a live concert.”

I would love to be Taylor Swift (because she is gorgeous and I love all her music) singing “Everything Has Changed” with Ed Sheeran (because I love him) live in London (because this is at the top of my list of places I want to visit).