Prompt Ninety-Seven

Describe your last visit to a doctor’s office or hospital.

Dentists are doctors, right? I semi-recently went to the dentist for the first time in seven years. It’s been this long partially because I left for college, partially because I moved and didn’t know how to look for a new dentist, and partially because the last time I went they told me I needed to get my wisdom teeth removed and neither I nor my parents could afford that.

So the appointment was a little stressful at first because I only had my medical insurance card, not dental. I called my dad (because I’m still on his insurance) but he was in a meeting and I told him not to bother even though I really needed the information. Eventually he sent a picture of the card and I filled out paperwork only to find out the dentist wasn’t even in my network. Stupidity on my part.

I got my teeth scraped (which was super painful because there was seven years worth of buildup) and cleaned and sat through a lecture on how people who work in restaurants tend to have bad teeth because of easy access to free soda. I don’t drink soda. Turns out that after seven years I only had two cavities! Yay for brushing twice a day and flossing and using mouthwash!

My gums hurt for the rest of the day and my mouth felt weird because I now have spaces between my teeth where the buildup had been. I told myself I’ll try to go to the dentist more often… Maybe.

Leave a Reply

