Prompt Ninety-Five

img_8857

The difference between the first death you remember and the most recent one.

The first death I remember was my grandma on my dad’s side. I was very young and she was in a nursing home. I cannot remember where I was or how I learned the news, but it came as a shock to me. I remember crying and missing school so I had to go to my fifth grade class to collect the homework I missed. I also remember being in the funeral home and seeing my grandma lying there was very weird to me. I kept checking to see if she was breathing and just sleeping.

The most recent death was my Great-Aunt Lena, again on my dad’s side. I was unaware she was still alive because she moved to California and we lost contact. She was brought to my hometown for the funeral and I remember attending the service but I do not think I attended the burial. This happened the year I graduated from college.

Leave a Reply

