Prompt Fifty-Nine

You, a grown adult, are afraid of the dark. Explain why this is a legitimate concern, so friends won’t laugh at you.

“Hey, guys, can we maybe crack open the curtain so I can see the light in the parking lot? Why? I’m not—Stop, I’m not afraid of the dark! Well… maybe a little… Maybe a lot… Don’t laugh! So what if I’m 24? The dark is a scary thing! You don’t know who or what could be hiding in it and watching you and waiting to sneak up on you. There could be a rapist or a murderer or rabid dog! The dark warps perception and makes everything bigger and louder than normal. And it makes me feel alone… I don’t like being alone…”

Leave a Reply

