Prompt Forty-Six

Put two characters, each of whom wants something from the other, in a room together. Neither of them is allowed to ask for it straight out. Give them five minutes with only dialogue to get what they want.

“Hey, Sam, that’s a cool purse!”

“Thanks! I bought it at Macy’s yesterday.”

“Really? How much was it?”

“You’re not going to believe this, but it was on sale for 50% and then I had a coupon so it was only $60!”

“Wow! That’s not bad, but it’s a little out of my price range.”

“It was the last one, too.”

“Well that sucks…”

“Yeah…”

“I really like it.”

“Me too! And speaking of shopping, are those new earrings?”

“They’re new to me but they’re vintage. I went antiquing the other day and the guy at the store told me they’re one of a kind.”

“Oh man, I’m jealous!”

“I’m sorry to hear that. I’m pretty jealous of your purse, too.”

“But I like my purse…”

“And I like my earrings.”

“But Rachel, isn’t that what twins are for? What’s yours is mine and what’s mine is yours?”

“I don’t think that’s how it works.”

“Well it’s a little late now because I’ve been borrowing stuff from you our entire lives.”

“And I’ve totally been doing the same… Okay, you can borrow my earrings. I know you have a gala coming up and they would look great with your dress.”

“Thanks! And this purse definitely matches your favorite pair of boots!”

Leave a Reply

