Prompt Twenty-Nine

Through a freak illness, you lose one of your senses. Which sense is it, what happens to you, and how do you deal with it?

I asked my boyfriend to suggest a sense for me and he chose smell, which I think is a sense I wouldn’t be heartbroken to lose. I would of course miss all my favorite scents (e.g. rain, campfire smoke, freshly-mowed grass, old books, coffee) but I think I could manage. On the plus side I wouldn’t have to worry about other people’s body odor or garbage or sewage or other nasty smells. I would still maintain my cleanliness of course because even if I can’t smell others still can. Without a sense of smell I would still be able to function as a normal human being. However, wouldn’t this mess with my sense of taste? I don’t know how I would cope if I could no longer taste or if food tasted less flavorful. I love food! I love eating! I don’t want that experience to be ruined! I mean, I’d be able to eat things people judge me for not liking but still! I would probably go insane or become more depressed than I already am.

Leave a Reply

