Prompt Twenty

You’re confined to your bed for three months due to a serious illness. What do you miss, and what’s the first thing you’ll do once they let you outside?

I looked across the room at the open door, unable to believe the day had finally come. My doctor told me I was well enough to leave my bedroom but I should not push myself. I knew illness and lying in bed for three months had weakened me but I wanted to get as far away from my room as possible. Throwing my sheets back, I swung my legs over the side of the bed and slowly lowered my bare feet to the cool, hardwood floor. I took a deep breath and stood up. The usual rush of dizziness did not hit as badly and I was soon shuffling my feet across the floor to escape my prison.

I paused in the doorway, using the frame to steady myself as I caught my breath. This was going to be much more difficult than I thought. I started walking again, moving more slowly so I would not tire myself out. My dad stepped into the hallway and offered to help but I told him I was fine. I had been waited on hand and foot for three months, it was time for me to do things for myself again.

Going down the stairs was a bit of a challenge but once I recovered from that I was in the clear. I shuffled through the living room, opened the front door, and was nearly blinded by the sunlight on the other side. I stepped onto the front porch, shielding my eyes as I took my first breath of fresh air. I could smell freshly mowed grass, the neighbors’ famous barbecued chicken, and my mom’s honeysuckle bush. Oh how I had dreamt of these scents.

I lowered my hand and held onto the railing as I walked down the steps to the front lawn. I wriggled my toes in the long grass and smiled at the sensation before lowering myself to the ground. I laid back, spread-eagle, as I stared up at the clear blue sky. For hours I remained there, listening to the birds and cars driving past, just bathing in the sunlight.

Leave a Reply

