Prompt Fifteen

knife-in-hand-e1366243749542“What is the worst thing that ever happened to you?”

I was in a pretty bad relationship. He was controlling, manipulative, and always made it seem like I was the bad guy. Whenever we fought he would threaten to kill himself if I broke up with him, saying he could not live without me. It took me two years to convince myself I needed to get out. Unfortunately, the day I broke up with him we were on his turf. He pulled a knife on me. I did not know if he was going to hurt me or himself but that was the most terrified I have ever been. I did all I could to calm him and diffuse the situation until I was eventually allowed to leave unharmed. I was a naive teenager at the time and told no one what had happened.

Leave a Reply

