Prompt Eleven

o-silence-facebook“What people don’t understand about you.”

My silence. I’m terrible at small talk and holding conversations unless I know you really, really well. And I hate it. It takes me so long to warm up to people to finally be myself around them. I never speak first unless I have something to say. I’m terrible at making new friends unless they reach out to me and have the patience to deal with how quiet I am. I don’t know how to fix this and it’s frustrating. And it isn’t like I don’t want to talk to people. I’m not stuck up. I just don’t know how to be a normal human being.

One thought on “Prompt Eleven

  1. You have probably read the ancient wisdom, attributed to Abraham Lincoln, Mark Twain and others: “Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.” You are certainly no fool, and we are enjoying the gradual process of getting to know you. You are doing very well! Times when you are feeling safe provide opportunities to build confidence, but your writing, when you are in control, is a wonderful place to test your voice. Writers are an introverted bunch, more likely to observe and think, and given to solitude.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

